Thing 1 – blogs & blogging

I have been a librarian since 2001, so that is over ten years! I came late to this career after many years in the public service in Australia – mainly helping people into work, and training staff. I like people and I like information and (dare I say it?) I like reading.

I have been at my present workplace – The Australian Catholic University – for eight years. For the past three years I have been working in a virtual team for six campus libraries, that are spread over many 1000s of kilometres – in three states and one territory in Australia. My supervisor is about 777 kms away, and the other members of my team are about 300 kms away.

My job involves access to electronic resources, maintaining the Library website, and the social media/communication side of what the Library does – so that’s mainly to students, but also to academics and other uni staff.

I have initiated and run four http://blogs.acu.edu.au/23things/ programs.

I have never actually been involved as a participant, and am currently reviewing our program. I saw the CPD23 2012, and just thought – “this is for me!!” – so very happy to be involved. I like the international flavour of this particular program, the chance to try a few new *things?*, and the opportunity to connect, engage with even more library folk šŸ™‚

I am currently posting a photo a day of myself – Flickr set – so if you want to see what I look like, there are a few pics there!

Leave a Reply

